Massey University Harbour Sport Excellence Awards

Honouring Sporting Excellence in Our Region
Become a Partner

25th Nov 2016

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

Congratulations to Lisa Carrington!Lisa Carrington

Winner of the Supreme Award

New Zealand canoe sprinter and Olympic Champion Lisa Carrington was awarded top honours at the 2016 Massey University Harbour Sport Excellence Awards.

Harbour resident Carrington won the Axis Sports Medicine Specialists Sportswoman of the Year Award before being named the Massey University Supreme Award winner.

Carrington is the first New Zealand woman to win two medals at the same Olympics, with gold in the K1 200m setting an Olympic Record; and bronze in the K1 500m. For the past 4 years, she has been ranked the number one female paddler in the world, collecting the highest number of points throughout each year. In the K1 200m Carrington has been unbeaten for 5 years in a row, and was the recipient of the 2015 World Female Paddler of the Year Award.

Carrington wasn’t the only star acknowledged for a stellar year, with Para Swimming world-record holder Cameron James Leslie taking home the Shoe Science Albany & Takapuna Sportsman of the Year honours.

In the 150m Individual Medley SM4 class, Leslie not only won the Olympic Gold medal but did so in a new World Record time of 2:23.12 seconds, lowering his previous world record by an astonishing 2.65 seconds. This effort gave Leslie his third consecutive Paralympic Gold in this event, and helped solidified himself as one of the most successful Para Swimmers in New Zealand history.

Sailing continued its tradition of success at the annual awards evening as 470 sailors Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie won the Massey University International Team Performance of the Year category for the third year in a row. However, this year the honour was shared with 2-handed Skiff 49erFX Class sailors Alex Maloney and Molly Meech. Both teams brought home silver medals from this year’s Olympic Games in their respective classes.

In all, 15 category winners were announced, with volunteering, club sport, officials and sporting events among the many other sectors of sport recognised.

“The Massey University Harbour Sport Excellence Awards are a wonderful reflection of the talented community that we have in this region” said Harbour Sport Chief Executive Toni-Maree Carnie. It is an honour to acknowledge so many achievements from 2016 at the awards”.

Harbour Sport wishes to congratulate all finalists for this year’s awards




Massey University Overall Supreme Winner

Lisa Carrington

Canoe Sprint

Shoe Science Albany & Takapuna Sportsman of the Year

Cameron James Leslie

Para Swimming

Axis Sports Medicine Specialists Sportswoman of the Year

Lisa Carrington

Canoe Sprint

Sports Injury Clinic Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Eliza McCartney

Pole Vault

Cube Creative Print, Design & Signage Junior Sportsman of the Year

George Gautrey


The Spencer on Byron Hotel Junior Team of the Year

Nick Egnot-Johnson & Jackson Keon


Massey University International Team Performance of the Year

1. Jo Aleh & Polly Powrie

2. Alex Maloney & Molly Meech



Honda North Shore Regional Team of the Year

Birkenhead United Men’s 1st Team


Zeffer Cider Regional Talented Sportswoman of the Year

Eleanor Adviento


Harbour Sport Regional Talented Sportsman of the Year

Tevita Li

Rugby Union

Harcourts Cooper & Co. Referee/Umpire of the Year

Simon Taylor


Deep Creek Breweries Coach of the Year

Gordon Walker

Canoe Sprint

Massey University Maori Sports Performer of the Year

Ethan Rangi

Para Athletics

Harcours Cooper & Co. Club of the Year

Birkenhead United AFC


TASS Print Sporting Event of the Year

Finn Gold Cup 2015


Giesen Wine Volunteer of the Year

Glenn Wheeler

Rugby Union

Hayes Knight Sporting Acknowledgement Awards

Richard Wood

Krisinda Etherington

Lara Smith

Karen Lynch

Ross Frisby

Danny Morrison

Alice Browning

Simon Cheesman

Len Bilton

Jill Hayman

Innes Kerr-Taylor

David Gould

Erica Knights

Edith Miller

Photo Gallery

Share This
/*mobile menu*/