Massey University Harbour Sport Excellence Awards

Honouring Sporting Excellence in Our Region
Become a Partner

The Spencer on Byron Hotel

 9-17 Byron Ave, Takapuna Beach

Friday, 16th Nov 2018

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

Friday, 16th November 2018 at The Spencer on Byron Hotel

The awards recognise exceptional performances and contribution to sport in the North Harbour region. This is a great opportunity to showcase the outstanding sporting talent in the region. Previous winners include Andy Maloney, Lydia Ko, Shaun Johnson, Lisa Carrington, Tom Abercrombie, Tony Woodcock and Jacko Gill.

Or Please Contact:

Bella Wateridge   |   |   09 415 4652

Guest Speaker – Ian Jones

Massey University Harbour Sport Excellence Awards is proud to have Ian Jones asour guest speaker at the award ceremony. Ian Donald Jones is a former New Zealand All Black. He played 79 tests for the All Blacks and is the most capped lock and formed one of the most famous lock pairings in international rugby, often
partnered with Robin Brooke in the All Blacks from 1992 to 1998. Jones made his All Black debut at the age of 23 on the 16th of June 1990 against Scotland in Dunedin and made a huge impression by scoring a try in his first game. This absolute shotgun hasn’t stopped since his retirement becoming a Sky TV
Rugby Presenter, a 6-year serving Board Member of Harbour Sport, Ambassador for North Harbour Rugby, a member of the North Harbour Rugby Board since 2008. He was also a member of the NZ Rugby Players Association and assisted with the planning and implementation of a fundraising initiative with NZRPA and St. Johns in August 2012.

2018 Finalists

NZSport.TV Sportsman of the Year

Name Sport
Tai Webster Basketball
George Karl Tu’inukuafe  Rugby
Michael Brake Rowing
Michael Lee Surf Lifesaving
Michael Venus Tennis


Under Armour Sportswomen of the Year

Name Sport
Lisa Carrington Kayaking
Caitlin Ryan Kayaking
Danielle Mckenzie Surf Life Saving
Tyla Nathan-Wong Rugby Sevens


Cube Creative Print, Design & Signage Junior Sportsman of the Year

Name Sport
Connor Bell Athletics
Oscar Guo Badminton
Kruz Perrott-Hunt Basketball
Samuel Jones Rowing
Blake McGlashan Sailing
Josh Armit Sailing
Seb Menzies Sailing


Physio Connect Junior Sportswomen of the Year

Name Sport
Tayla Dalton Basketball
Anna Leat Football
Malia Steinmetz Football
Stella Ebert Rhythmic Gymnastics
Ava Fitzgerald Gymnastics
Sophie Egnot-Johnson Rowing
Tamara Otene Volleyball
Bridget Layburn Water Polo
Samalulu Clifton Surf Lifesaving


The Spencer on Byron Hotel Junior Team of the Year

Name Sport
Westlake Boys Cross Country Team Cross Country
Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan Sailing
Fran Kayrouz and Jackson Keon Sailing
Greta Stewart and Tom Fyfe Sailing


Massey University International Team performance of the Year

Alex Maloney and Molly Meech Yachting team
NZ Women’s Kayaking Team


Zeffer Regional Sportsman of the Year

Name Sport
Damian Hirst Football
Daniel Dyet Surf Lifesaving
Paul Van Achterbergh Surf Lifesaving


Honda North Shore Regional Team of the Year

Birkenhead United AFC
Functional Strength Olympic Weightlifting
Harbour Raiders Volleyball Club Men’s Team
North Harbour Carlton Party Hire Senior Women
North Harbour Cootes Construction Senior Men
Tiger Turf North Harbour Hawks Hockey Team


SOS Hydration Referee of the Year        

Name Sport
Julie Carrel Badminton
Richard Casutt Beach Volleyball
Lisa Wright Diving
Allan Wilson Football
Simon Taylor Hockey
Zak Middleton Netball


Deep Creek Breweries Coach of the Year

Name Sport
Mitchell Ryan AFL
Cordelia Norris Diving
Paul Hobson Football
Dane Smuts Gymnastics
Sam Bartholomew Hockey
Gordon Walker Kayaking
Matt Thomas Sailing


Tass Print Sporting event of the Year

North Shore Marathon & Half Marathon  
North Shore Open
Sentinel Homes Hockey World League Final  


Maori Sports Performer of the Year

Name Sport
Tyla Nathan-Wong Rugby Sevens
Pita Rona Softball
Tamara Otene Volleyball


Harcourts Cooper & Co. Club of the Year

Name Sport
North Harbour Diving Diving
Birkenhead United Football
Shore Rovers Netball Club Netball
North Shore Rowing Club Rowing
Mairangi Bay Surf Lifesaving Club Surf Lifesaving
North Harbour Water Polo club Water Polo


Giesen Volunteer of the Year 

Name Sport
Jaron Burbidge Football
Graeme Saxony Football
Gavin Hawke Hockey (Field)
Tony Sands Surf Lifesaving


Massey University Innovation in Sport

Bowls North Harbour
Functional Strength
AFL New Zealand
North Harbour Gymnastics Club


2017 Photo Gallery

Share This